What is a Play-Link and what can I do with it?

A Play-Link is uniquely generated for each recording. Using Play-Links, you can play your recording over and over again with just a click. 
Where can I find the Play-Link?
You can find the Play-Link in your Ranorex Online workspace. 
  • In your Ranorex Online workspace, select the project that contains your desired recording. 
  • Click on the link symbol in the line of your recording.

  • Click Enable sharing for this recording to automatically generate a Play-Link of your recording. 
  • Copy the Play-Link and paste it into another desktop browser window or share it with anyone. 
How can I use a Play-Link?  
  • Use Play-Link for cross-browser testing: Do you want to know if your tested workflow works and looks as expected in other browsers and operating systems? Simply paste the Play-Link in the desired browser window to see instant results. Using Play-Links, you can, for instance, play your recording across multiple browsers at the same time.  
  • Share recordings with anyone: Play-Links are a great way to share recorded workflows with colleagues or friends outside your company, even if they don't have a Ranorex Online account. It's a fantastic solution to collaborate on projects and keep everyone up to date.
Important: Be careful what you share and make sure you're protecting sensitive data! 
How can I see if my shared recording has been replayed with a Play-Link?
In the Results column of the recording, you can now see a small tip at the result, indicating that you've shared its Play-Link. When you move your mouse-pointer over the result, the tooltip shows you when the shared recording has been played using its Play-Link. 
Can I unshare a recording?
To revoke access to a recording you've shared, you have to disable sharing for this recording:
  • In your Ranorex Online workspace, select the project that contains your desired recording. 
  • Click on the link symbol in the line of the recording. 

  • Deselect Enable sharing for this recording. The Play-Link of this recording will be disabled until you reselect Enable sharing for this recording. Alternatively, you can also click Generate new Play-Link. A new Play-Link of this recording will be generated and the previous Play-Link will no longer be valid.
What can I do if someone has shared a Play-Link with me? 
If someone has shared a Play-Link with you, you can play the recording it links to and re-share the Play-Link with anyone. You cannot rename, edit, duplicate or delete a shared recording and its Play-Link.
I received a Play-Link, but the recording violates the Ranorex Online Terms of Use. What can I do? 

If a recording violates our  Terms of Use, please send an email to compliance@ranorex.io